Notices

how do i do it?

Old 02-01-2011, 08:38 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

how do i do it?

hi everyone. this is my first time on the site, or on any site like this for that matter - i've read a few when feeling desperate and looking for advice. but here i am now...
i'm feeling myself losing control, and i know i need help. i've already hit rock bottom. 3 years ago, alcohol led me to lose my marriage, my home, my friends, my animals, my car, my reputation, and the worst thing: i lost custody of my son. i got myself into rehab, went to a couple of aa meetings (not my cup of tea), and stayed sober for exactly one week. since then, i've been able for the most part to maintain a more normal life. after my whole world was turned upside down i did some good things for myself, trying to regain myself. i got back into college 10 years after dropping out, and if i can hang on, i'll graduate in may.
trouble is, i don't feel like i can hang on. i've been thinking about going back into a detox/rehab facility. i think that is what i need to do. but with my busy job, and final few weeks of school before graduation, how do i do it? also, all the positive things in my life are related to my son. since i've gotten a little better (and good at hiding when i'm not better), the ex has been very generous with letting me have my son. right now, i get to do breakfast with him and take him to school in the mornings. plus every other weekend, and some times in between.
the last thing i want to do is show signs of weakness and discourage the ex from letting me have more time with my son - even jeopardizing my long range plan to gain custody back. i can't let him know i'm relapsing.