Notices

hi and AA question

Old 01-07-2011, 01:50 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

hi and AA question

Hi, I'm new to this sort of thing.

I'm on my 6th day of sobriety after 24 years of heavy drinking and/or pot smoking on a daily basis. So far, so good.

I've been seeing a couple of psychologists and one of them is urging me to go to an AA meeting. I'm skeptical but will give it a shot.

Looking around the Seattle AA site I see a plethora of options but I was wondering if there's a way to find out beforehand what sort of demographic groups tend to attend the various meetings. My shrink says to just start going to random ones but I don't have the time or inclination to do that.

That might sound like a weird question, I don't know. But I'd rather try to start out with a group that I feel I can relate to in terms of age, parental status, etc.

Thanks in advance for your help.
Old 01-07-2011, 02:10 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Another Day in Paradise

DRUNKS and former DRUNKS mostly. Demographics are not the deciding factor in my years of attendance. I have several lawyer and MDs who I count as fellows of AA and also know some real hard luck cases.

We all have at least one thing in common, after that it is a replication of the world outside of AA.
Old 01-07-2011, 02:11 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
i've done my almost

AA meetings are full of alcoholics. If you're an alcoholic then it'll be full of people, just like you.
Old 01-07-2011, 02:18 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Go to alot of meetings, I know, you are not inclined to do so... It is not what you think and there is no way to know before hand whether a particular group will resonate with you. I think you'll be pleasantly surprised...

Anonymity is a profound spiritual principle which transcends one's station in life....
Old 01-07-2011, 02:20 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  
Forward we go...side by side-Rest In Peace

Welcome....

Good to know you are heading in a positive direction.

If you live in the surburbs you might want to find a