Notices

Allan Carr's Book

Old 12-03-2010, 11:14 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Allan Carr's Book

I found a very old thread on this book but thought I'd start a new one. I've seen a number of people mention his book recently and since I read it and found it very helpful I would be interested in seeing what others (who have read it) thought.

Thanks!

BTW, The book is called "The Easy Way to Stop Drinking", he also wrote a wildly successful book on quitting smoking called "The Easy Way to quit Smoking".
Old 12-03-2010, 11:37 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Forward we go...side by side-Rest In Peace

As I was already happily sucessfully AA sober
years before the carr books were written....
I have no experience to share on them.

Again...there is no wrong way to get and stay sober
Wishing everyone the best recovery gives....
Old 12-03-2010, 11:43 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

I haven't read it. LaFemme did you find it helpful as you were quitting drinking or had you been sober for a time already when you read it?
Old 12-03-2010, 12:38 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Hey LaFemme, good topic. I read Carr's Easyway book before I decided to quit, but I was considering quitting or trying to moderate at the time. His idea that we needed to be debrainwashed/reprogrammed made sense to me.

The book was excellent for pointing out reasons to quit drinking other than the obvious one, that drinking was screwing up my life. So it definitely helped me decide to stop. But I don't know that it was a lot of help after I quit.

Mentally, I could ponder all of his topics, but that didn't do much to lessen the cravings/boredom that made me want to drink. The desire to improve myself, both physically and spiritually, was my inspiration. And SR was my main source of help.

However, I would still recommend the book. Everyone is different and Easyway has been a big help to others. I guess we don't know what methods will work for us until we try them.
Old 12-03-2010, 12:49 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  
Administrator