Notices

does your "time" sober matter?

Old 09-26-2010, 06:22 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Lightbulb does your "time" sober matter?

i am interested in hearing some others opinions on this.. (i just passed 3 years 8 months sober) i have heard people in A.A. say time does Not Matter. i disagree.. though there is no cure i believe your amount of sobriety Does Matter! i am Still Learning Every Day and Don't Have all the answers..
Old 09-26-2010, 06:35 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

I take my recovery 'one day at a time'. However undoubtedly I feel stronger for every extra day that I remain sober. For every difficult experience that I successfully work through and remain sober for then I gain in strength and self-worth. Clarity of thought only comes with sober time gained through successful positive recovery.

Time is a great healer (providing you put the work in. Sometimes the work is merely going to bed sober!)

peace
Old 09-26-2010, 06:36 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

What do you mean time does or don't matter? Matter for what? To start drinking again?
Old 09-26-2010, 06:38 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  
bona fido dog-lover

My amount of sober time DOES matter to me 'cause the longer I'm sober, the stronger I become and the more I want to stay sober.
Old 09-26-2010, 06:43 AM
  # 5 (permalink)  

I will only assume here since I'm not far into being sober.

In my life I have been sober for many years, and that was my under 30 years. i would get drunk for a little bit, like a couple weeks then stop for months maybe a year or two.

After 30 is a different story.

Anyways, of course the longer away from alcohol the body heals and its chemical balance goes back to normal. But the desire to give up and basically put yourself to sleep cold drunk may never leave. It might be a personal choice of state of mind for people.
Old 09-26-2010, 06:44 AM
  # 6 (permalink)  
6/20/08

I was a drunk for 30 years. That mattered. It's why I finally got my life together.