Notices

Not sure what to expect

Old 08-04-2010, 11:14 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Not sure what to expect

Hello,new here. I'm heading to detox on friday then hopefully full blown rehab after that. I'm scared to death. I've been drinking heavily every night for the last 5 years.It started with hard liquor,usually either 3/4 of a bottle of vodka or southern comfort.Now it's easily 25-30 beers a night.I tried to quit on my own,that didn't work out so well.

I started seeing/hearing things,it was just easier to drink then to put myself through that hell. But now I've decided to get the help I need. I can't mentally or physically do it any more. I've been lucky,I haven't had any legal problems due to drinking.

Basically I'm just curious as to what to expect during detox? I think part of the reason I keep drinking is I'm afraid of what will happen if I don't
Old 08-04-2010, 11:21 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

Hi borntorun

Are you under medical supervision now. Those folks are always the best to ask

We have a thread here with members experiences in it...it's not definitive but it may help give you some kind of a general idea...

http://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/...at-we-did.html

Welcome to SR - good luck with detox and beyond.

D
Old 08-04-2010, 11:25 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

thank you for the reply. I'm not currently under medical supervision right now. Unfortunatley I am drinking until I am able to get into treatment. I want to do this the right way...and not risk my life. Thank you for the link,I'll have a look
Old 08-05-2010, 12:49 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Forward we go...side by side-Rest In Peace

I'm glad you started a thread...
I did reply to another post of yours before I saw this one.

http://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/...ack-track.html

Dee and Keep gave you better/more anyway!
We all are here to support each other.

Again....Welcome ...
Old 08-05-2010, 02:30 AM
  # 5 (permalink)