Notices

I have not had a drink for five days

Old 07-02-2010, 03:13 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

I have not had a drink for five days

Hi my name is Franie. I have been drinking heavily for about three years. At least a bottle and a half of wine for the last year. I decided on Saturday to stop drinking - and have not had a drink since. I am lucky that I have not experienced too many withdrawal symptoms yet. I decided to stop as I finally realised that it was affecting my relationship with my children and husband.

I have a lovely husband and three beautiful daughters so have no reason to medicate with alchol. My childhood was not the best - but I feel that it is not appropriate to blame my drinking on something which took place over thirty years ago.

My husband has, in the past, said that he thinks I drink too much. He has no idea of the extent of my drinking and I will not be telling him any time soon. I have put them all through so much - I was very depressed for a long time and am only just comming out the other end. I can't burden him with this as well.

I just need a little support and a space where I can be honest about what I am trying to acheive. There is no sense of achivement when nobody really knows what you are trying to achieve - also I am not daft - there is also nobody to see you fail.

Any advice welcome.

Franie
Old 07-02-2010, 03:45 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Franie,
Welcome to SR. It is great to have got this 5 days already.

Alcoholism and addiction has this strange way of operating in our brains. I can see how stupid others' drinking habits and relapses are but yet I quit 10 days of sobriety to drink last Sunday and had to restart again my path to recovery two days ago. I have also decided not to tell my husband right now the extent of my problem. Reading your post I am even more convinced this is not a good idea.