Notices

Relapse?

Old 05-13-2010, 11:33 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  
LBW

Relapse?

I'm confused. Really, really confused. I'm trying to decide if I'm really an alcoholic or if I was just a alcohol abuser... I'm trying to decide if I can drink normally after all. Maybe this is denial. I really need some honest opinions...

Here's the short recap:

I binge drank in college with friends... but no more than any of my other friends. Then when I graduated, I went through about 5 years of solid alcoholism... drinking every other night (every other because on off-days I was super hung over). This never affected my professional career or relationships, however, I was very shameful that I couldn't seem to stop the pattern of drinking. Then in early 2007 I got prego and quit cold turkey. Once I had baby, I resumed drinking but this time... way less... like 1-2 times a week. After about 2 years, I got prego again. This time I quit drinking and decided to never start again. The reason was that even though I was drinking less frequently, I still binge drank whenever I drank. For instance, I would have like 10 or more every Saturday... but none during the week.

Alcoholism runs in my family. I was told my entire life -ever since I could talk- that I could be an alcoholic as well. My uncle was a major alcoholic who actually drank himself to death. My Dad and my sister are major alcoholics. My Dad used to get DUI's but has quit now. My sister drank all day every day but has also quit now. My sister also got addicted to many other drugs. They are both in AA.