Notices

Question motivation/drink after 75 days

Old 05-03-2010, 08:50 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Question motivation/drink after 75 days

Hi,

I quit drinking back in February of this year. I quit cold turkey after drinking for some 25 years. I came across this site the same week I quit. I found this site to be quite helpful,thanks.
When I quit, my motivation went way down from my normal motivation. I did get back to some what normal after 6 weeks or so. Now I seem okay, but Iam bored sometimes and still don't have the same motivation I had before.
Last weekend I had 3/4 drinks on a outing with some friends. I did this on purpose to prove to myself I could have a few drinks socially and still remain not drinking which I have done.
The strange part about all of this was when I woke up the next day, I had extreme motivation/energy like back some six months ago when I drank. I tackled painting some trim around some windows that I had been putting off for 3 years, it was a nasty painting job. I enjoyed painting this trim, my spirits were high, I was in a great mood, loaded with energy and high motivation.
The next day, I was back to my normal motivation, which is still low.

Has this happened to anybody else?
Is this all in my mind, was it the alcohol?
I had felt like my oldself on a great day.
It was a really great feeling.

Thanks
Old 05-03-2010, 08:57 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Go ask the Multivax

It's just lying to you. The little alcohol monster in our brains starts playing tricks because it wants it's fix. So, it sounds like you're (or it) is trying to say "Hey, it's not so bad, you can even have one drink, AND see, you felt better the next day too!"

It's an illusion. IMO
Old 05-03-2010, 09:02 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Administrator

To use Ali's terminology, I think we're used to feeding the monster - when we do, that feels normal.