Notices

A call for help

Old 03-03-2010, 12:15 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

A call for help

I'm new to this whole forum thing, and I'm finally ready to admit my problems after a long night. I've known this was coming for a while, but this was the last straw ...

I'm a 21 year old with a lot of baggage. I've got my career started, but alcohol is already becoming a problem.

I started drinking at around age 16 with a few friends. Always binged. I was a 3.6 GPA student in high school, but once I got to college I started drinking HEAVILY. So heavily that I had to leave my first school, and have begun the process of flunking out of the one I'm at now. I haven't been able to have a solid relationship with a GOOD girl in ages. I've incurred serious debts.

I haven't had a single sober day since I graduated high school 4 years ago. It's gotten so bad recently that I try to fight random people at bars, and always wake up with new cuts and scratches on myself. Last night was the last straw.

I got in a fight (my hand is pretty nicked up), got kicked out of a bar, urinated myself, and went to another bar. Urine and all.

My health is in serious decline, and I need to be healthy for my job. I was discharged from the marine corps for alcohol related instances, but I will not lose my job, my life, and my family this time. I've been reading a lot today, and found this site out of pure happenstance.

Any help on how I can assure myself of sobriety would be greatly appreciated.

I need help. I can finally admit it.
Old 03-03-2010, 12:26 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
To Thine Own Self Be True

Welcome! SR is a great place to begin your recovery!
Sounds like you are ready. What's your plan?
Old 03-03-2010, 12:35 PM
  # 3 (permalink)