Notices

Aversion Therapy

Old 03-01-2010, 06:33 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Aversion Therapy

Forgive me if this has been discussed before...

But I'm seriously considering going to a ten day rehab that has a very impressive success rate.... their method being aversion therapy.

I know two people personally that are successful graduates from the program...

Of course they've highly recommended it to me...

But it's a lot of money and a big commitment not to take lightly..

I wondered if any of you had any opinions and/or experience with it?

This is the place I'm looking at. ..PM me for the link please

Last edited by CarolD; 03-02-2010 at 06:12 AM. Reason: Removed Improper Link to commercial site
Old 03-01-2010, 06:55 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Hi debs... So glad to see you here and still seeking recovery. I briefly read over their site... I am not an expert on aversion therapy.

I am a 12 stepper, AA.... The Big Book that trying to stay sober on recollections of the last horrible bender or spree is not sufficient... So... AA and this place are almost completely opposite... although they claim to work in conjunction with AA and other self help groups.

One thing that gave me pause was this statement...

To allow advertising of our claim, Schick Shadel presented the people, data, study methodology and rationale used in claiming its #1 status to the three operating television networks
Think about this statement very carefully... they presented data to advertising departments at television networks to verify their #1 status... WTF... can you say "conflict of interest"? How can anyone who stands to gain financially by endorsing their claims be objective?

I don't know... I don't like anybody who claims to be #1 and then charges a lot of money and gets PAID endorsements... which in effect, IMO, are just that...

Mark
Old 03-01-2010, 07:01 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Good point... No idea what I'll end up deciding to do, but it's always helpful to hear other opinions.