Notices

I need to say "I'm an alcoholic"

Old 01-06-2010, 07:24 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Don't resist, allow

I need to say "I'm an alcoholic"

Hi, I'm a compulsive overeater and an alcoholic.

I've been admitting that I am an overeater since 1999 when I went to Overeaters Anonymous and began working the 12 steps. I've always been a heavy binge drinker since starting at 18. I just suppose food got a head start - my earliest memories of using food were at age 9.

Despite great recovery, working the 12 Steps, living the programme, sponsoring...... this cunning, baffling, powerful disease got the better of me and found a way to get me back to using the food through the alcohol. For the last two and half years, food and alcohol have been dangerously interwined in my life to the point that I have no idea which is the greater problem any more......But still I couldn't admit I was an alcoholic....I don't even like whiskey, vodka or gin. Alcoholics don't just drink wine, do they?

Everytime I drink and binge I have been passing out for about an hour. When I come round the only knowledge I have of what I have done is the empty bottle, wrappers and packets that surround me. I have feared for some time not coming round when I pass out and ending up in some sort of diabetic coma. Instead of stopping, I have just coached my six year old to phone for an ambulance

Sunday morning, again no recollection of the last binge, seeing my child crying because of my behaviour as he retold it to me........I was so ashamed, full of guilt, absolutely paralysed and overwhelmed by despair. I literally could not move. I couldn't even cry. I thought of Bill's story...

"No words can tell of the loneliness and despair I found in that bitter morass of self-pity. Quicksand stretched around me in all directions. I had met my match. I had been overwhelmed. Alcohol was my master" Pg 8 Big Book.