Notices

My wife thinks I am an Alcoholic

Old 11-12-2009, 10:46 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

My wife thinks I am an Alcoholic

...not that the "label" bothers me. But I do love her and my marriage and that is what matters to me. To be honest I am pretty sure I am an alcoholic but that fact really does not bother me. I feel like my current life is pretty good outside of my wife not being too happy with me. I am what people probably would call a "functioning" Alcoholic. (I am not saying that makes it better). But here is my background.

I am a successfull business owner and drinking not only does not effect my work performance but it actually creates oportunites through Happy Hours, Golf Outings, sporting events, etc. I can have a drink or two or three depending on the social situation and stop. Stopping is not my problem. In fact, if I get a DWI my career is over so most of the time I am very careful not to drink if I am driving or in a business or otherwise conservative social situation.

I even have a motorcycle and go on bar hopping rides making sure I do not have more than about a drink or two an hour. (Most of the time I choose not to even drink when I am on the bike).