Notices

Liver damage repair period

Old 11-09-2009, 12:59 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Liver damage repair period

Hi guys, I'm new to this

I visited my doctor yesterday who told my my test results indicate a damaged liver. My physical symptoms concur with this - I feel tired, get nauseous when under pressure (queueing in a supermarket, at work etc...). I have decided to knock it on the head. My doctor assures me that the damage so far is still reversible.

My question is, (besides withdrawal) how long with no alcohol will it take for the physical symptoms of liver damage to subside? I want to get on with working, but feeling like I am going to be sick is not helping!

Thanks guys.
Old 11-09-2009, 01:03 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

I think it's an individual thing based on a lot of factors. Your doctor would be the best person to give you advice on this. (We are not allowed to give medical advice on SR) I have heard people say that they have seen improvement in their physical symptoms in as little as two weeks, and others, longer. Again, I would say ask your doctor to get the most accurate picture of what to expect.

Welcome to SR!
Jomey
Old 11-09-2009, 01:05 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Retired Pro Drunk

For each person - only time will tell.
Old 11-09-2009, 01:06 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Heathen

Not all liver damage is recoverable from.. but sometimes it is. I'm glad your doctor has assessed that yours is, and I would imagine he has also told you how to take care of it and live healthy.

My liver wasn't damaged, by some unnatural reason. No one here can give you medical advice, but might share how their experiences have been with liver damage.

Are you done drinking ? (it's really not a silly question, a lot of people continue to drink and eat horribly after hearing news of a liver condition).
Old 11-09-2009, 01:08 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  

I had my last drinks yesterday after I was told, and am just about to go to bed after my first booze free day.
Old 11-09-2009, 01:14 PM