Notices

is there such thing as a functioning alcoholic?

Old 08-18-2009, 11:57 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

is there such thing as a functioning alcoholic?

i'm only 18 and ive been drinking pretty much every day for at least 2 years, although i started drinking even before that (and i take certain kinds of drugs), and my life is pretty ****** up, but i'm still more responsible than lots of other people i know... i just finished highschool a few months ago with pretty good grades, and i have a job (even though i used to drink in school and i drink on the job), last spring i applied for and was accepted into university (i'm supposed to start next month but i dont think im gonna go)... i've kinda lost a few friends over my drinking, probably cause i can get mean sometimes, but i can be a bit of a weird loner sometimes anyway so i dont really care... ive also grown up around alcohol and alcoholics, but ive never really seen anything too horrible... so basically what im thinking is; why should i quit? cant i drink all the time and still have a relatively productive life?
Old 08-19-2009, 12:07 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Rockstar

Sooner or later alcohol abuse will catch up with you. Ascites, ulcers, varices, the list of destruction goes on and on. Being in my work I picked up people in terrible states. You can function for so long but it won't last. I was lucky to get through my twenties, I was spewing blood and in a mess. Granted im in my 30's now and still drink but its a dangerous path. I really wouldn't advise it. If you can have a good time drinking and walk away then hey wonderful. But for constant abusers the only thing they head for is the grave if they don't quit.
Old 08-19-2009, 12:20 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Administrator

I wasn't able to keep that up either - gradually the odd day called in sick, the odd family occasion missed, the odd band rehearsal missed...they got more and more frequent.