Old 08-02-2009, 04:33 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  
grateful to be here

i need someone to talk to

i got a dui last nite ... early this morning
i need someone to talk to
Old 08-02-2009, 05:10 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

I'm sorry to hear that. Just remember you're not alone and it's not the end of the world. I've been to at least two parties where a lot of people disclosed their DUI stories. It's not life-ending, you'll be able to carry on with your life and work. It may mean this is your bottom, which means you're closer to recovery. Don't beat yourself up because it's a common mistake. I'm pretty new to recovery so I don't want to give you advice as to what this means in regard to your sobriety and recovery, but a lot of more experienced people will post here and give you help. Just be glad you're alive and (hopefully) did not hurt anyone or yourself in an accident. Is this your first DUI? How far are you in recovery? Take care and know you're not alone, that there's a lot of people here who've been through the same thing.
Old 08-02-2009, 05:17 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Administrator

I'm sorry to hear that Bohemianzen.
I don't drive so I have no advice - I'm glad to see you reaching out tho.

Make this your bottom. The only way is up

D
Old 08-02-2009, 06:20 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Awaiting Email Confirmation

Sorry to hear that.

Try to make this unfortunate incident the spark that turns your life around.

The people in AA talk to each other 24x7.

Keep coming back.
Old 08-02-2009, 07:12 AM
  # 5 (permalink)  
FBL
non-drinker

I got my DUI back in November of 2003...thought it was the end of my world, both personally and professionally. Turns out it wasn't all that big of a deal in the long run. It cost me about $2000 total, also loss of my license for 6 months (I got a special permit to drive to and from work, etc), plus 6 weeks worth of classes (which really opened my eyes). As for work, my boss never even found out about it.