Notices

I give in, I'm beaten

Old 01-20-2009, 04:27 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

I give in, I'm beaten

i tried AA meetings a few years ago but i quit because i honestly dont think i wanted to stop drinking enough,
but now i do, ive tried stopping on my own but i only last a few days, and i'm irritable and anxious all the time,
on thursday im going to a meeting nearby, im going to stick at it this time because ive tried everything else, and there's nothing else left, how long will it take before this obsession is lifted? i forever thinking and worrying about everything, im 44 and ive been boozing for 16 years, and ive hit rock bottom, i was too drunk to get my daughter anything to eat when she came in from school,loads of other stuff too that i cant remember
please pray for me i really really want sobriety,
Old 01-20-2009, 04:36 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Welcome Juliwuli...I think you hit the nail on the head when you said you honestly didn't want to stop drinking before. Wanting to remain sober and doing what it takes are worlds apart...I wanted to quit long before I did because it was hard...only when I was willing to go thru the uncomfortableness that a new quit brings was I able to succeed. The obsession of which you speak lifts with time...everybody is different so I can't tell you how long but for me it was gone by 3 months...my new habits gave way to a new mindset. Best of luck to you! You can be the Mom you want to be....starting today.
Old 01-20-2009, 04:44 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Originally Posted by juliwuli View Post
i tried AA meetings a few years ago but i quit , how long will it take before this obsession is lifted? ,