Notices

How do I get him to quit?

Old 12-02-2008, 05:15 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

How do I get him to quit?

Hi everyone, I'm new to SR and I need some help. I've been clean and opiate free for almost a year now, all because my fiance moved me out of state. My fiance is an alcoholic. He admitted it to me once but otherwise won't admit it to me. I haven't asked him to. He is a manager at a liquor store and comes home with a new kind of beer every night. He gets paid good there, so he won't quit. When he drinks, he gets mean and I don't know how much longer I can deal with it. He stood by me and helped me get clean and I don't wanna give up on him. If I mention him even cutting back on the beer he gets mad and says he is who he is and he won't change for anyone. What do I do? If he could just admit that he'd have a problem we could go from there but he won't. He's been to meetings, had sponsors and everything else and nothing's worked. I know he won't quit for anyone but himself, and he says if he wanted to quit drinking he would. He has no desire. I don't want to leave him... He's a great person when he's sober. Awesome to be around, fun, and easy going. When he drinks I have to walk on egg shells to avoid him getting mad. Any advice would be appreciated!! Thanks!
Old 12-02-2008, 06:01 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
peaceful seabird

Congrats on your clean time!

FYI, I am married to my drinking partner of 14 years.
I also was a manager of a liqour store.

I am happy that your fiance was so supportive of you when you got clean. But you must have wanted that change in your life. You have seen how good your life can be without the drugs and that will help you to make better decisions for the rest of your life! Good for you.

Now for the bad news....I am sorry, but I do not think you will be able to get your fiance to quit drinking. You are not his savior or his sponsor. He will get sober when he is ready. You can not love him into sobriety or nag him into sobriety.