Notices

Sobriety and keeping relatonship/marriage

Old 11-22-2008, 03:33 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Sobriety and keeping relatonship/marriage

I looked at the forum for relationships, but didn't see blogging from the addicted. I am new in this but what i have heard, between here and AA is that most /alot of alcoholics split up with partner once they get clean/sober. I am heading in that direction I know.have been for along time, I just can't make a move right now. Is it because of getting clean or is it they realise they had lost the feeling for the other person once sober. I know for me, I drank and stayed numb..now I am not numb, and feeling it all, and the pain and hurt I feel loud and clear, I have come to terms that this relationship should never had been to begin with,,I hear how the addicts are the abusers, but I was not abusive to anyone, I drank alone. I did it to not feel anything. Just curious how many have split during this,,and how did it affect the recovery, did it help to take the plunge
Old 11-22-2008, 03:44 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Ph.D in insanity!!

Mine has been home a bit over two weeks now and it's tough. Since I am married to an addict I feel he stayed in the past while I had to grow up. I had all the responsibilities. I'm sure I have resentment.
No matter what relationship you have you have to reinvent yourself. Relationships die unless you grow with a person. Accept their changes. Alot of people don't realize they are doing it because it's gradual.
When you are back with a recovering addict you are meeting at two totally different places.
I know I feel like he hasn't felt the pain I felt and part of me wants to make him feel it. I know I can't. I have to find a place that's fair for him and myself if we want to make this work.