Notices

Confronting A Coworker

Old 08-06-2008, 06:16 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  
ever closer...

Confronting A Coworker

I am almost 4 months sober and have not shared this info with anyone I work with. I am a nurse and work with between 10-14 others a day. I was a really clever alcoholic and don't think anyone at work knows the extend of my addiction. it was no secret that I liked to 'party' but the 3am - 3pm beer drinker was my own secret. So with that said......I really think one of my coworkers has an alcohol problem. She was one of my closest coworkers at one time but over the past 2-3 years we have drifted apart. I have clear new eyes now and can see so much more that I did when i was actively drinking and spending lots of time and energy hiding my addiction. So do I confront her? Say anything to her? I know that no one is ready till they are ready but....
Old 08-06-2008, 06:40 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Follow Directions!

If this coworker is a nurse and you can tell she is drunk on the job at a minimum it may be wise to take her aside and mention to her that if you can tell she is drinking on the job that others can as well and maybe she should be a bit more careful about coming to work under the influence.

If she is a nurse and tanked on the job she may be endangering patients.

If you decide to talk to her, try not to be confrontational or judgemental.

Now if she is endangering patients, you may want to consider if you would want her taking care of someone you love and take it from there.
Old 08-06-2008, 06:46 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Forward we go...side by side-Rest In Peace

As I never made a secret of my drinking or my recovery
I have no experience to share on this.

If you do choose to discuss your recovery
be prepared to have all your co workers know.

You could mail her some AA pamplets
and not put a return address.

Just thinking aloud
Old 08-06-2008, 10:10 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Belgian Sheepdog Adictee

First, I would suggest you check your motives.