Notices

Anti-depressants and Alcohol

Old 06-24-2008, 01:03 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Anti-depressants and Alcohol

Anyone here drink or drank while using anti-depressants? Has it affected or worsened your drinking problem? My brother who is an alcoholic has noticed his drinking and cravings worsen over the past 3 years since he began taking Seroxat (Paxil). I read that Paxil can worsen a drinking problem. Problem is, its not an easy AD to stop, one needs to withdraw from it very gradually over a period of several months and even then unpleasant after-effects may linger for a long time. Its a two-prong battle many alcoholics face and I'm wondering if anyone has found it made their drinking more difficult to quit.
Old 06-24-2008, 03:24 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Follow Directions!

mimir I am not a doctor, has your brother been honest with his doctor about his drinking?

Tell him to see a doctor, ADs are pretty useless if one is ingesting a liquid depressant while taking them. It is kind of like taking sleeping pills followed by a line of coke!
Old 06-24-2008, 04:15 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Depressant and anti-depressant refer to different things in this instance. Alcohol as a depressant referes to the bio/chemical effects on the central nervous system where it slows it down. Anti-depressant refers to the mood alleviation role that these drugs do.

Yes my brothers doctor knows he's on Seroxat (Paxil), but if he were to stop it he would have major side effects to deal with. Theres a forum called Paxil-Progess (cant link to due to my low post count) with thousands of members many of whom are going through hell trying to withdraw from it. Paxil is an SSRI (selective serotonin reuptake inhibitor, supposedly one of the less problematic types of AD) and I believe many alcoholics may be on it, hence my wondering if any here are using it or something similar (ie Prozac).
Old 06-24-2008, 04:36 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Eddie Van Halen wannabe

Just my two cents...