Notices

Liver tests

Old 03-17-2008, 02:53 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Liver tests

Set up an appointment to get a liver function test done this week. Can't say that I'm not worried. Had one done about 5 years ago and it was within the normal range. Anyway, just wondering if anyone has any personal experience of liver tests, specifically, if the count comes back as elevated, how quickly they can return back to normal considering abstinence from alcohol. I don't have any symptoms of liver disease but just want to do the test for peace of mind.

[Just for a point of reference, I've been drinking on and off for about 10 years (from early 20s to early 30s). Some periods would be a regular basis of 3-5 cocktails a night daily for a few years, and others would be weekends only. Really cut down my drinking the past two years (lost 30 lbs) and these days, I don't really touch the hard stuff and manage to drink a six pack a few days out of the week. I also exercise regularly and eat healthy.]
Old 03-17-2008, 03:19 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

4 years ago my liver tests cam back with various problems; bad results, high Billy Rubins count, etc etc.
I quit drinking and after about 4 to 5 months things were back to normal.
It also turned out that I had something called Gilberts Syndrome which isn't a really bad ailment but means that you need to be extra careful with your liver.
After this abstinence I gradually built up to a high level of drinking again with the inevitable results. Ill health etc.
When I gave up the booze for good, again, it took about 5 months to get back to normal and I've been fine ever since.
For your info I was never a super heavy drinker and I drank very little spirits but at 40 years plus it did seem to hit my liver badly.