Notices

Anybody have Depression?

Old 02-17-2008, 06:24 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Anybody have Depression?

I was diagnosed almost a year ago. Just wondered if anybody else is in the same situation and whether or not the depression got better after quitting.
Old 02-17-2008, 06:27 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Next stop: real life

Racer - have you checked out the Mental Health forum here? You should if you haven't.

I was diagnosed with depression when I was a freshman in high school. It got markedly worse when I started drinking, exponentially worse in the last six months. I stopped drinking a month ago, and the depression's gotten better... but it hasn't gone away. I've still had suicidal ideation, bouts of hopelessness, et cetera. It's something I'm working on with my doctors.

Are you being treated for your depression? If you were put on meds while you were using, the dosage might need to be re-adjusted now that you've quit.
Old 02-17-2008, 06:34 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

I'll check it out Tellus. Thanks. I was pretty bad while drinking in that I would go off my anti-depressants so that I could drink but I've started taking them again and I think I may soon be able to quit smoking as well.

Right before my wife gave me an ultimatum, I had lost my job. Out of nowhere for reasons of restructuring, I found myself jobless so that really got me down because I NEVER expected that.

I feel bad about the stuff that has gone on between my wife and I and the rest of the family. How I treated them. Things I said. I need to apologize to everyone but I haven't been able to yet. I'm been thinking about what I can say to everyone but I haven't found the words yet.

I do feel closer to my family now.
Old 02-17-2008, 06:40 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Next stop: real life

I bet the fact that you're with your family and sober means more than any apology. Don't stress too much over what's past.