Notices

SSRI, CBT or what?

Old 02-15-2008, 09:11 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

SSRI, CBT or what?

Damn, I wasn't a full blown alcoholic until I took Zoloft. I began having serious anxiety when all in the last five years I graduated college, married, moved from California to Minnesota, bought a house, got a dog, bought a Duplex to rent and fix up, had a kid, then another etc. I began having panic attacks, later diagnosed as GAD. Been anxiety ridden since a kid, but the last five years brought it to a forefront.

Soooo, I was prescribed Zoloft a few years ago and that was the most awful experience of my life. Never was much of a drinker prior to. Zoloft had way too many side-effects. I wonder if anyone can share that an SSRI drove them to drink or just brought their self-medication or even drinking problem to a forefront. I don't want to hear any post experience about how it took away the depression, because quite frankly, I can't deal with another SSRI in my mind. I really am working the Cognitive Behavioral Techniques to deal with issues, but my self-medication is awful.

I want to hear how people feel stress induced anxiety changed over time relative to their drinking OR if it was really just their stopping drinking that changed things. Yes I have been to AA and am involved in church, community, family is aware of problem etc.

Thanks
Old 02-15-2008, 10:05 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Forward we go...side by side-Rest In Peace

Hi....
As you are dealing with several issues
that I have no experience with...
about all I can say is....

....Welcome to SR!
Old 02-15-2008, 11:09 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Been there and done.

I was on Prozac for a while and it drove cravings. Cutting out drinking helped my mood much more than SSRIs.
Old 02-16-2008, 08:57 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

In my case anxiety increased when I was sober and I bacame more socially withdrawn. I have heard that some ssri's can increase temptation to drink, and at the same time, drinking dilutes their effectiveness.