Notices

Driving me nuts

Old 02-03-2008, 07:19 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Driving me nuts

I want to quit, but I don't want to. I'm 59,semi-retired, and have been drinking pretty much every day since my early 20's. I drink a cocktail before dinner, and 1/2 to 3/4 bottle of wine every night watching a movie or reading a book. I like the taste and I like the way it mellows me out. I'm not drinking more or less in the last several years. I have gone 3 times in the last year of not drinking for 7 straight days just to do it. No withdrawal or other physical results, just total boredom at night. Had the doctor check the liver enzymes last year and al was fine. Bottom line is, I believe I'm an alcoholic, but I enjoy it, and just don't want to give it up.

Anyone ever been in a similar situation, and, if so, what did you do?
Old 02-03-2008, 07:31 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Next stop: real life

I'm new at most of this, but I can regurgitate advice I've seen elsewhere in these forums. The first thing everyone will tell you: only you can decide whether you're an alcoholic or not. One "test" would be to take just one or two drinks, then stop. Do you need that 1/2-3/4 bottle of wine, or are you able to just stop after the cocktail? The first step in the Big Book reads: "We admitted that we were powerless over alcohol--that our lives had become unmanageable." Does that apply to you?

If you think your life would be better without alcohol, I'd say check out AA, give quitting a shot. There's a good chance that you'll find you're just as happy, or even happier, without alcohol in your life. On the other hand, it could be that you're happier as-is; from what you've said, it seems like your health isn't a problem at this point.

Best of luck,
A
Old 02-03-2008, 09:02 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Awaiting Email Confirmation

Hello Ozark