Go Back  SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information > Alcoholism Information > Alcoholism
Reload this Page >

New here and finding it hard to think I have a problem

Notices

Old 10-17-2007, 08:33 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Hi everyone, im new at all this and I still have issues about whether I have a problem with alcohol or how bad it is. Im 21 and havent been drinking for all that long. I never thought much about drinking and was "normal" until I took a year out to travel and work in pubs in the UK. Every night the staff there would have drinks after work and I joined in. After a year of this I decided to go back to go university and this is when I noticed I may have a problem. I continued to drink about 3 nights a week always on my own.

I find I dont think about drinking unless I am depressed and things get too much for me, at these times I want to drink because it makes me feel like everything is fine. Dont get me wrong my life is far from being bad and I suppose thats what makes me realise that I have a problem but I dont know whether its with alcohol or depression.

My family has a history of depression and I have gone through periods in life where I recognise I get more depressed about things than the average person. In the past when I was younger, for a short period of time I would cut myself (in places no one would see) and I would feel better. When I got a little older a started smoking cigarettes and that would make me feel better. And now it seems to have progressed to alcohol to make me feel better.

I do recognise I have a problem with alcohol but for some reason I still cant see my self as an alcoholic. This is probably because I dont think of drinking, only when I get down... but this is what some alcoholics do isnt it?