Notices

Alcohol Withdrawal fears?

Old 05-28-2003, 12:24 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Paused

Alcohol Withdrawal fears?

Hi Everyone,

This is my first post and almost my first week sober. I've been drinking since 2000 and drinking moderate to heavy for the past year or so. I've decided to quit after realizing how much my alcohol was affecting my panic disorder. My first few days of withdrawal weren't too bad, but then on the 4th day I was out on appointments and had a major panic attack. I thought that maybe I was about to have a withdrawal seizure or DTs or something like that. My symptoms have been fairly mild except for anxiety. I really haven't even had cravings for it, just very heightened anxiety. Tomorrow will be my 6th day. Am I in danger of seizure or withdrawal? When does the anxiety and slightly sour stomach go away? Do I need to go to a hospital or is this just my panic disorder talking? Thanks for listening!!!

:shades:
Old 05-28-2003, 01:02 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
we're all mad here!

I didn't have much withdrawal except for a mild case of the shakes and some sweating for a few days.

are you being treated for the underlying panic disorder? there are meds to help wit this that are non-addictive. This is something to ask your doctor! Be frank and honest with him/her about your alcohol consumption.

BTW big congrats on your 6th day!

I can't answer you about withdrawal because i didn't go thru it but surely you will get more responses that will answer that question.
Old 05-28-2003, 01:20 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

I had anxiety and mild panic attacks before I quit drinking. They mostly went away after a week or two of not drinking. I still have some anxiety and worries just like non-alcoholics, but not nearly as often or severe. Quitting drinking doesn't solve ALL of one's problems.
Old 05-28-2003, 01:34 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Hi Quasi,welcome to SR.