Notices

I can't figure out why this is so hard

Old 08-12-2007, 12:16 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

I can't figure out why this is so hard

I apologize in advance if this is incoherent. My mind is racing right now.

A quick note (I just went back and typed this) My father was an alcoholic. I never knew him. My mother doesn't have a problem but her parents both did, but she was adopted by relatives of her real parents. I'm sure there is some genetics working there.

I'm 35 years old. I picked up my first drink at 31. I didn't drink in high school or college like all my friends, I just had no interest in it. When all my friends in college were "partying", I wasn't. I put myself through school while working full time and it was my own money being spent o n my education, so it meant a lot to me. I went to school part time for 13 years while working full time until I got my Masters degree in 2003.

4 years ago this spring, I got drunk for the first time at a party. It hit me like a ton of bricks....so THIS is what I've been missing. I never felt so happy and confident. Within a couple of weeks I was drinking wine at home at night while I worked on my thesis because I found out it helped me. I was diagnosed with ADD back in the early 80's...long before it became the most over-diagnosed thing in the world. I've always had a real problem staying focused and alcohol seemed to cure that problem. And for the time being, it did. I finished my project in time and graduated with high honors.