Notices

Old 06-24-2007, 12:37 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
crazinclean

Hello everyone,
This is my first time posting and I just wanted to introduce myself and ask a few questions. I went to my first AA meeting last week just to see what it was like and I have to admit I was very nervous. It turned out fine and everyone was really friendly. I think I'll go again tomorrow.
I've decided this morning that last night will be the last night drinking for me. I've tried to stop many times before but always come up with a good reason by the end of the day why it's not a problem. I hate how my mind can be so convinced in the morning that quiting would be a good idea and by the evening I decide I'm fine. I think part of the reason it's difficult for me to stop is that I drink 2 or 3 glasses of wine per night, which I see a lot of people do, and I think maybe it's normal. Or it's okay. But then I realize that it's interferring with my life and I should not be doing it at all. My father, step-father, grandmother and grandfather are and were all alcoholics. Their lives were and are a mess. I don't want to end up spending my entire life numb.
My questions are:
I'm going on vacation in a few weeks to the Carribean and drinking is such a huge part of these trips. Any advise? Other than don't drink.
Also, do you think it's possible to get to a point where you can have fun at a party without drinking? It seems as though the entire world needs to add drinking to a party in order for everyone to enjoy it. Sort of sad when you think about it.
Thanks
Leah
Old 06-24-2007, 01:39 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Forward we go...side by side-Rest In Peace

Welcome to SR!

It's not about what you drink or when
or how much
if your drinking is causing you problems
any problems in your life
then it is a problem.

One does not have to be an alcoholic
to desire sobriety.
If you want to stop drinking
AA meeings are like classrooms for livng sober.

Here is a link full of info on alcoholism