Notices

I'm a newbie, hello

Old 03-12-2007, 01:12 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

I'm a newbie, hello

I'm sure you get a lot of "I'm new here" threads around this joint, and there are probably threads and forums already erected for the likes of me, but I haven't yet had an extensive browse around here yet; perhaps I am impatient. I'm new here because I think I'm an alcoholic. This is only a realisation I came to today, after having been in denial, after dismissing the claims and warnings of friends and, equally worringly; strangers or people I meet over some drinks at parties, bars, wherever. A close friend has been calling me one of late and I've disputed all of this, saying it's merely a social thing, that we all get tanked together and the likes, and that I'm not getting off my face everyday, or not drinking everyday, so that makes it somewhat okay or a little bit less than okay. But I only realised today that I really can't afford to keep up my drinking habits for a number of reasons. My emotions, my efficiency, my creativity and passions and ambitions have all become muted since I started to get drunk. I have so many immediate desires that I lose very rapidly in a habitual succession because I get drunk. And I could create a long, long list full of reasons to get drunk, and a short list consisting of about two or three quickly-scrawled dot points for why I shouldn't. I feel very pathetic, I feel very, very pathetic.