Notices

Completely Stop?

Old 02-05-2007, 01:13 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Completely Stop?

I am a newbie here, and have been reading over some posts, and it seems like most people here have either completely quit drinking, or are trying to completely quit drinking.

In the past I have considered myself a problem drinker. But not an alcoholic. I'm 25 years old, and for 2 1/2 years, I drank on average 10 beers every day. But for the past 8 months or so, I have limited myself, and I mostly drink on the weekends at night, but most of the time I slip during the work week once or twice. Sometimes I don't drink at all during the week. It all depends on how motivated I am to not drink. I mostly drink out of boredom. I work different hours than everyone else that I know, so when I get home from work, I have nothing to do, so I kind of got into the habit of kicking back with a bunch of beers after work. I've never had anything negative resulting from my drinking. I am completly functional. It's just something that I used to do at night on a daily basis. But I find at night, when I don't drink I find myself incredibly bored. And that makes me want to get smashed. Usuallly I can just fight it, and stay sober, but like I said earlier, I usually slip once or twice during the work week. At this point, I don't consider myself having an alcohol problem, even though I probably drink more than most people.

But everyone on this site seems to want to quit completley. And if your in an extreme drinking situation, I don't blame, you. But do you people think that just cutting down on alcohol is a reasonable solution for people like me? Is drinking on the weekends and maybe once or twice during the week ok? Keep in mind that I never drink and drive, and I always do my drinking at night, after my day is over. I'm just looking for somebody with a similar experience. Thanks for reading.
Old 02-05-2007, 03:42 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Follow Directions!