Go Back  SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information > Alcoholism Information > Alcoholism-12 Step Support
Reload this Page >

AA has a lot of value, and I am engaged, but I also struggle with the Dogma

Notices

Old 05-09-2020, 07:11 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Hi folks,

I hope everyone is having a wonderful sober Saturday. I wanted to post and honest thread for open minded discussion.

A little bit about me. I just got 90 days on the May 3rd, so I'm a bit of a newbie again. I had about 5 years ago in AA in the past, worked the steps, etc. I went back out for a while, and drank very heavily the last year or two before I came back in the rooms, but especially the last year.

I'm back in the fellowship. Right now I'm on step 4 with my sponsor, and about half way through. I'm attending most weeks online meetings anywhere from 5-9 times per week (I attended in-person before the shut down).

First, I'd like to say that I really value the fellowship and community of AA, and it's the most pervasive and largest recovery group. For me, this is probably the greatest plus of AA. Also, I value the structure of the steps, the work with a sponsor, reflection and amends, and spirituality. I'm a spiritual person. For me it is very helpful to have this community to check-in with and get support. Staying sober in our world isn't easy.