Notices

Need advice on issue with sponsor., do i get a new one.

Old 07-14-2010, 02:23 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Need advice on issue with sponsor., do i get a new one.

Hey all, I'm fairly new to AA.

I have a sponsor who I like and respect a lot. (several months with him)

Recently an issue has come up that has me re-thinking what is best for me.

My sponsor has reccomended an individual to handle a heavy financial issue for me. He told me he has known this person for many years and that I can trust them.

As it turns out this person has been recently fined by the governing body of his type of business for unethical and incompitant behavior and the person was working under a different name to try and hide it.

My sponsor said from the begining that hiring this person was a business decision and If I had any bad feelings I should cut him loose and it would not effect our sponsor/sponsee relationship.

If it were just my questioning his ability or a personality clash it would be one thing, but in this case, his background was obviously withheld from me.

Bottom line I've lost alot of trust with my sponsor over this and weather it is valid or I'm overreacting it's there and that will cause me to question, and to hold back, which will not be good for me.

So... should I consider getting a new sponsor.

By the way, my gut is telling me screw the whole thing go back to quitting drinking on your own and not trusting anyone, that's where I'm comfortable, but I know it will kill me.
Old 07-14-2010, 02:46 PM
  # 2 (permalink)