My Dear Mom

Old 11-22-2005, 03:51 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Unhappy My Dear Mom

Hello Everyone,

My name is Laura from Southern Pines, NC. I am new to this, just joinned a few days ago. I have enjoyed reading everyones stories and can relate to many.
My Mom is an alcoholic, has been for years. In 1980 she was put into treatment and the doctors told her then is she kept drinking her liver would go and she wouldn't live long. She did stop drinking until around 1995 and has just been increasing her drinking since. She will not go to the doctor, I think she is afraid of what they miay find. I feel like I'm having a breakdown. I have tried talking to her calmly and also more sternly, and nothing works. She had promised several times to stop and go to the doctor but this has not happened yet. She is on a fixed income and has 4 credit cards maxed out buying beer, wine and cigs on them. I am 45, have MS and have had a heart attack and don't know how much more I can take. My doc has told me to harden my heart, not be cold hearted, and work on my coping skills. He has also told me this is out of my control and there's noting I can do until she decides to seek help. I feel like my sanity is gone, and am at my wits end. I would welcome any advise from anyone out there, PLEASE help me.

I TOOK AN INVENTORY & LOOKED INTO MY BAG TO SEE WHAT I HAD LEFT OVER. I HAD ONE JEWELIN THE BAG LEFT, THE BRIGHTEST JEWEL OF ALL. I HAD THE GIFT OF FAITH.

Fondly, Laura
Old 11-22-2005, 04:05 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
JT
Supply Manager

Welcome Muffin,

It's not so much about hardening your heart. If you can come to not only understand, but accept that you really don't have the ability to change this situation there is some peace for you in that. Ask yourself if anything you have done up to this point has made an impact. She stopped when she had a health scare and even with that information she started up again. I suspect she is scared, like you said.