feedback? Thanks all!

Old 05-30-2004, 06:53 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

feedback? Thanks all!

I posted something similar over at the alanon site and just thought it might get good responses over here, too. I'm looking for some feedback on your thoughts about growing up in an alcoholic home. To go back, would you rather have had the non-drinking parent leave and take the kids and build one home without alcohol's presence, or are you glad your parent "stuck it out", or if your parent left, do you wish they had stayed?
I'm a non-drinking parent of three daughters. My oldest expresses often that she would like to me to leave with them. I'm very torn. I've been comtemplating this for a few months, have lived with it for over 10 years and found the progression of the disease is getting beyond what I feel I can live with. I love my husband, but I can't stay and watch him commit suicide with my endorsement stamped on his forehead. I'd really appreciate any feedback, don't feel like you are advising me. I've got tough skin, I can take whatever you have to say. Thanks so much.
Old 05-30-2004, 07:32 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
the girl can't help it

McTired,