SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information

SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/)
-   Adult Children of Addicted/Alcoholic Parents (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/adult-children-addicted-alcoholic-parents/)
-   -   My First Time Here (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/adult-children-addicted-alcoholic-parents/291422-my-first-time-here.html)

FedUPWithDrugs 04-15-2013 11:40 AM

My First Time Here

Hello,
This is my first time doing this. I needed some place to talk to someone that might understand! I have a crackhead father, a brother in jail for helping to make meth, another brother and his wife addicted to pain meds and suspected heroin, an alcoholic grandfather and an enabling mother and grandmother. Does anyone else feel like running away and changing their identity? I simply can't take the emotional rollarcoaster of it all anymore. Being sober puts me the odd man out in a place where I am supposed to have the most comfort. What happened to my family that was so close that turned into strangers that I avoid because they are not safe to be around anymore? I'm out numbered and feel like I'm standing alone and fear for my kids growing up!

Impurrfect 04-15-2013 01:08 PM

((FedUP)) - Welcome to SR, though so sorry for what has brought you here. This forum can be slow, at times, but I'm sure someone will be along. You may also want to check out the Friends & Family forums - one for alcohol, one for substance abuse.

I'm not really an ACOA, but I do have several family members who are addicts/alcoholics. I'm in recovery, myself. The great folks here have helped me to regain a bit of sanity and serenity, even when everyone around me is spinning out of control.

Hugs and prayers,

Amy

BunnyNest 04-15-2013 01:34 PM

I am in a similar place. I am so outnumbered.

I am glad you found this place. It has helped me so much. It helps to know I am not the crazy one, and not alone.