A newbie,,

Old 04-12-2013, 06:24 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Unhappy A newbie,,

Hi,
This is my first time ever attempting to talk about my mother. She left when I was 13 for drugs and others. Switched to Alcohol. She lives in another state. For 24 years I accepted her, loved her, supported her, and allowed her to use me as a verbal punching bag. I can no longer allow this however I am the bad guy for getting mad and upset, I am 37 married and have my own children, what she does to me is starting to affect me around my kids.She gets mad because Id rather not go to see her. Im tired of the pain the guilt and the tears. The nearest meeting I found today is about an hour away. I'm so weak at saying the way it is to her. I want to say good-bye, Id rather not accept anything from her again. But then I feel guilty for maybe hurting her. I wrote her a poem last night because of the recent attacks she posts on Facebook. I want to give it to her, but again I am scared.
Old 04-12-2013, 07:51 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Hello nmichalicek, and welcome to our corner of recovery

Originally Posted by nmichalicek View Post
... For 24 years I accepted her, loved her, supported her, and allowed her to use me as a verbal punching bag ...
Many of us ACoA's have suffered thru a life like what you describe. If you take a little time to read the posts in this forum you will see that we have experienced parents a lot like what you have dealt with. We understand, the same way you can understand us.

... I can no longer allow this however I am the bad guy for getting mad and upset...
Seems like all alcoholic parents react that way. It's always somebody else who is the bad guy.

... Im tired of the pain the guilt and the tears. ...
Yes, we all are. That is why we are here.

... The nearest meeting I found today is about an hour away. ...