Introduction

Old 12-03-2012, 05:35 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Red face Introduction

Hi everyone, Someone suggested that I put up a new thread to introduce myself, so here it is
(How uncomfortable it is to be noticed, btw!)
I lived apart from my parents for 8 years, and just moved back in with them over the summer. It's, in many ways, a triumph that I am able to live with them without completely caving in on myself. I am still really vulnerable to them, of course, but I have developed a sense of myself that is in conflict with the way that they view me. I am definitely not as bad as they make me out to be.

The real emotional struggle for me right now is really growing up and not giving in to my own bad relationship habits. I used to believe that everything was my fault, and my parents were perfect, so I got really emotionally sick (first bulimia, then alcoholism, abusive relationships, etc.) Then I started learning about alcoholism and my family, and I developed an understanding of what my parents had done wrong. (Both are alcoholic.) That was really important, because it gave me permission to stop hating myself. Now, I feel like I really have a good understanding of where I come from, who my parents are, and what they can and can't do for me. I'm not bulimic or drinking anymore, and I have a good man as my boyfriend. In the process of getting my own recovery, I've screamed at my parents and said the meanest things I could think of, in an effort to "wake them up" so they could start taking care of me like I had always been waiting for them to do. It didn't work. I feel bad because I really was cruel in some ways.

So now the problem is- how I do take responsibility for my own faults, without giving in to this old idea that I am just fundamentally bad?