Feeling a bit sad about the devastation of alcoholism

Old 07-04-2011, 04:03 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Unhappy Feeling a bit sad about the devastation of alcoholism

Hi, everyone, newbie here. Healing from an abdominal hysterectomy and sitting around and having too much time on my hands to think about things.

I have a pretty good background of years of counseling, ACOA and Ala-teen/Al-Anon meetings, so I know about working the program and focusing on my own issues rather than the alcoholic's issues, but I find myself struggling with feelings of sadness in the last few days.

I learned my brother's alcoholism has progressed to end-stage and he became homeless before entering a VA program. I became cautiously hopeful for him when I learned he was in a rehabilitation program, but he left it and started drinking again.

I know that I am powerless against his disease. I know it is his path to walk and not mine, that only he has the ability to make a choice to get better.

I find myself feeling sad though. I know he is at the point where he will die now. My father, who is in his late 70's now, is also end-stage and I feel sad that he will die without me ever having had a chance to know him sober.

I think I must have still had some hope deep down that they might recover from their illness. And lately I have had to be honest with myself and admit there really is no hope at this point. I think I am mourning the loss of this hope.

I know it is my issue that I have to work through. I need to go ahead and mourn for a bit and then just move on, not allow it to occupy my thoughts or influence my emotions. But I can't seem to help but have this moment of sadness.

I'm posting here because I know there are people here who are walking this same path, and at times feeling this same sadness.