Go Back  SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information > Friends and Family > Adult Children of Addicted/Alcoholic Parents
Reload this Page >

the more i investigate my codependency the more i can see that so much of it comes

the more i investigate my codependency the more i can see that so much of it comes

Old 06-17-2011, 06:16 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

back to my dad how he ruled like a tyrant.
Old 06-17-2011, 11:35 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Kevin, I, too, have come to see how much of my current feelings, thoughts, etc, is due to a father who ruled like a tyrant. It really strikes a chord with me when I read that ACOA's often fear authority figures. I still get an unpleasant feeling in my stomach every time my boss calls. I've been working for her for almost 8 years, and her calls are invariably good news, positives, compliments, etc.

I realize how I try to keep the peace, be the one to shrug things off, etc. is a result of constantly being railed on, told I was wrong, I screwed up again, no wonder people didn't like me, what did I expect, and so forth. Of course I was always trying to fix every relationship because I grew up hearing that I was always the problem.

It was a bit of an eye-opener to me when I told an older friend how my dad threw me on a bed and tried to choke me (I was 23) and she said, "He's a tyrant." I said, "Sort of." She said, "Someone who throws his daughter on a bed and chokes her IS a tyrant. There's no sort of."

She's right. Especially when I consider what he was so angry about.

Bit by bit, we recognize it and learn to overcome it.
Old 06-17-2011, 12:17 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Thanks i have a book on Adult Children of Alcoholics right now. Its got some good bits in it like it talks about a ACA 'camp' for example but i got to a bit where it says something like 'self respect' im not sure you understood as a child you had a self.
Old 06-17-2011, 01:20 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Originally Posted by kevinlednylon View Post