Brother issues contd.

Old 11-28-2010, 01:16 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
bhn

Brother issues contd.

Here's hoping for some useful feedback...my brother is 3 years older than me (62) and has been an alcoholic/multiple drug abuser for going on 45 years. Had one steady job during a sober cycle - he's a self-taught and gifted artist but always broke (duh). I'm the polar opposite - a straight and narrow college educated health professional. Mom was a nurse who smoked and drank her way into an early grave. I've chronicled the most recent issue elsewhere but basically I told him I would not be a part of his life anymore unless he got clean and sober. I got a scathing email back and never expected to hear from him again. He also cleverly avoided the subject of sobriety and I drew my own conclusions. We have been close at times and he's the only brother I have.

Well, lo and behold, I got a 3-lne note this AM inviting my wife and I to his house (he's 2000 miles away, thank God) for a fund-raising "party" featuring live music with multiple jam bands, junk auction, and JELLO SHOTS to benefit the Lions Club. How does that sound? Really, the LIONS CLUB!!! I almost choked on my coffee....

So I decided to reply with a polite "no, thank you" and belated Thanksgiving wishes and leave it at that. My wife is the only one that really knows what I am secretly thinking.....that the whole thing is a fraud. Am I out of line or what? This is a man who I've given the benefit of the doubt to over and over and I've gotten burned every time. At the very least, even if he does give some cash to the Lions, I'll bet he keeps a lot more for himself....

We wouldn't be caught dead at his house for any reason and I can't believe he was thinking I would want to be a part of it. But then, what was he thinking????

bothered w/brother (bhn)
Old 11-28-2010, 03:05 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

It's useless to try and figure out the reasoning of an alcoholic.
Old 11-29-2010, 06:59 AM
  # 3 (permalink)