Annoyed by previous events ruling my current relationships..

Old 12-06-2009, 02:07 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Annoyed by previous events ruling my current relationships..

Trying to breathe... trying to take a step back, think before I overreact...

I've been doing well for about four months or so. I mean, I'd have some bad days, some stress, etc., but I was healthy, I was happy. I was starting to form some, not too many, but some closer relationship with my friends... actually told one of them the other night that my parents are alcoholics (I've only ever told two people). It went well. I've even started to have better contact and boundaries with my parents. I wasn't yelling at my mom over Thanksgiving, but just accepting, which is such a change.

Things were going well. So, I thought about dating again. I am very young (please don't use the "I'm too young" thing... I've heard that, and I think it's bull. Plenty of my friends, my brother, have relationships), but I haven't had great experiences, and I've never been in what I would consider a relationship. Anyway, I was willing to see what is out there. I started dating this guy about 6 weeks ago. He was very polite, very sweet, open, gave me appropriate alone time, didn't come on too strongly, had the same interests, introduced me to friends, etc. We had great chemistry, attraction, and he even said "I'll let you dictate the speed," when we were kissing. He's now growing distant very clearly, and I've deleted his number. This-same-situation-happened-two-years-ago! With the first situation, I tried to cling on desperately, smothered him. I promised myself I would never do that again, and with this new situation, I didn't. But it still left me with the same results.