New Here

Old 11-23-2006, 10:42 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

New Here

This is my first time at this forum. I guess I just need to let out some of what I've kept bottled inside for years. Sorry if this is long. I don't really know where to begin. Nobody knows the things I've dealt with growing up. Both of my parents were addicts. My parents met on a methadone program and usually kept clean until I was around 10. Then my dad starting using again, I guess to escape whatever problems he was having with his health and his life in general. I always knew what was going on. My dad started using coke and I think heroin. He'd act like different people on different days. When my mom told him she was going to leave him for good he committed suicide. My mom just couldn't deal with it and the next four years things got progressively worse. She started taking pills and was in a stupor half the time. I remember having to pour water on her to wake her up when she passed out on the floor. She'd be out on public walking around in a stupor. She got into car accidents. We were reported to child welfare several times but even that didn't make her stop. I did my best to cover up what was happenning and lied to protect her. I thought what I was doing was for the best. She'd put guilt trips on me and make me steal for her and stuff. I'd wake up every night and lead her back to bed when she was walking around in a stupor. She constantly threaten to kill herself. One time I actually had to pull her in from the window when she was about to jump. Then she started using crack. She told me she had to. At first it wasn't in the open, then she just used in front of me and my little brother. Still I always lied for her and covered everything up. I don't know how I could be such an idiot to actually think what I was doing was right, instead of making her get help. I guess part of me just wanted to live in my own little world and do whatever I wanted. I tied my best to take care of my little brother but I