I wish someone had told me....

Old 09-14-2006, 10:44 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

I wish someone had told me....

I'm new to the acoa forum...
I read the sticky that identifies 14 or so 'characteristics' of acoa and I honestly don't think any of them fit me...
And yet, I am an adult child of an alcoholic....

My father has stuggled with alcoholism.
I remember when I was in the 9th or 10th grade, my father entered a rehab program for his drinking. I come from a very large, loving family but certain things just weren't discussed, ya know? (addiction, sex, and drugs to name a few).

We never spoke of my father's stint at rehab. It was treated as a shameful family secret...

I don't remember my dad having a real problem with alcohol after rehab. He would still drink on occassion...sometimes too much...so I guess maybe he did have a problem...but he seemed to function very well...

I didn't know alcoholism (or any type of addiction) was a disease.
I dont' know what I thought about the whole thing to be honest. All I know is that my mom was always a very strong woman and she provided alot of stability to our family and my dad seemed to be okay because my mom was so strong.

I thought alcoholism or addiction was something that could be overcome by the love, strength, and support of a good, faithful wife. I know it sounds incredibly naive...but I honestly believed this up until recently.

My exah is an alcoholic and a drug addict (heroin). I stayed with him for three long, excrutiating years after he picked up the heroin habit because I think I thought my exah would come around if I was just good, strong and faithful enough. Its taken me a long time to figure out that this isn't the case. Its taken me a long time to let go of the problem and let my exah live his life as he chooses and figure his life out on his own.

I wish someone had told me that addiction was a disease.
I wish someone had sat me down and told me what was going on...
I'm not blaming anyone...