Thread: AVRT meetings
View Single Post
Old 04-19-2021, 08:36 PM
  # 17 (permalink)  
DriGuy

Originally Posted by Obladi View Post
Discussions of AVRT need not exclude the reality of factors beyond (or before) addiction. But I do agree that AVRT meetings would be pretty much a waste for anyone who has already grasped the concept. Struggling is not always a symptom of AV, but if I DO choose to drink ever again, I have no problem with conceding in advance that the AV was absolutely in play.
I'm new to Rational Recovery, although the gist of it resonates so well with me, because I've been doing it intuitively almost since I started to get well. I sense that this is an interesting discussion, but I confess, I'm having a hard time following it. I think I could if I took more time and studied it very very carefully taking breaks to digest small parts at a time. Why is this? The book was kind of the same way. I got it. I got it, but some of the parts I just flew through as they seemed necessary to me. Part of that may because I'm of the notion that in my situation, if things ain't broke, you don't need to fix them. And now I'm feeling derelict in my studies. But maybe I'll come back to that and finish it more thoroughly. From this thread, I do now understand that the method may not be that intuitive for many of us, and I'm sure that if I study it more, I'll find somethings I don't understand in the book either. What I do know is that the parts I've discovered on my own have served me well for so many years.

As far as the Big Plan, I got that almost right away, never questioned it, and just did it. I've probably been aware of my AV for most of my life, although I really grasped it's danger when I started to deal with my alcohol problem.

But all that blather and apology to respond to the first thing in this thread that I understood well enough to need to respond to. You said: