SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information - View Single Post - No Longer abstinent
View Single Post
Old 08-31-2019, 12:23 AM   #14 (permalink)
Tolkny

Quote:
Originally Posted by LifeRecovery View Post
Hi Tolkny-

Unfortunately this side of the forum is not as well traveled as some others. That was why I was double checking about the food part of things initially.

For me. I have lived with an eating disorder since I was at least 6. I have been working my recovery actively for the last 20 years or so. I have struggled with the full range of concerns.

While working on my food stuff I met, loved and married a problem drinker which eventually got me to this website, and the friends and family side of things.

For me right now I have had a really big recent shift in which I have realized that talking about things keeps me from emotionally stuffing things. As a result my food behavior challenges have been non existent recently.

I have not used OA for recovery but have used therapy, other 12 step groups, body work, mindfullness and meditation etc.

I don't always love the lessons that this has brought into my life, but I am grateful for the learning.
Thanks for that response - LifeRecovery - I have had four day's food abstinence - which for me is three moderate meals a day with absolutely nothing in between.

I first found the 12 step meetings for myself in 1994 - though had been in varying forms of contact with the AA & other programmes since my father first found some sobriety in about 1968 - he eventually began 21 years sobriety in November 1970 - by that time I (born 1948) had qualified as a social worker and since 1975 worked as a probation officer - & thus had begun to have professional contact with addicts of every type.