View Single Post
Old 07-14-2018, 03:27 AM
  # 28 (permalink)  
mirrorball

Originally Posted by Mrdenial View Post
Hi all, I’m always trying and enjoying AVRT. I have been doing NA meetings for quite a few years and had relapse after relapse. To be honest I never have been a spiritual person and found it difficult to relate to god etc, although without a doubt NA has helped me a lot. Only recently did I discover AVRT and so far so good, it is definitely helped my mindset and effort to finally start to recover. I have had a lot of busy, stressful challenging days at work recently, and have managed to stay pro active and positive, which is a big difference already. I will stay focused and keep working hard, and continue to be a better person I wish to be.
Mrdenial
Hi MrDenial hope you are doing ok. I also didn't like the AA approach and in particular the disease/powerless concept. I had heard other people/addicts use the 'you can't help it you have a disease' line on me and always thought that was BS, or else how could anyone ever recover.

It took me a while to get onboard with AVRT as you have to really be ready to stop forever and for a while I wasn't. I think not being a daily user was a hindrance as I could go for a few weeks without using so all the more easy to convince myself I was a recreational user when I was anything but.

I had a horrible relapse dream last night, then dreamt that I woke up and it was real!! Soooo good to finally wake up properly and realise it was just a dream. In the past I'd wake up from using dreams thinking 'damn! I was only just getting my high on' but this time it really was waves of relief that it was all a dream.