Thread: New here
View Single Post
Old 06-11-2018, 09:30 AM
  # 5 (permalink)  
Katzen

Welcome to SR... everyone here is so wonderful and supportive.... and what I find most important most are non-judgemental, they, or I should say WE, know your struggle and know that doesn’t make you a bad person. But by quitting you can be a BETTER person, especially because you have a young son to care for.... I can’t imagine how I would have managed raising my kids if I drank in excess when they were young. But after they grew up and left the nest my drinking escalated, perhaps I was making up for lost time, I had my first child at 18 so as a college student I never drank or partied or had fun weekends like my friends without kids were having.

At least you recognize you have a problem and are looking for help... that’s probably the most important thing in quitting. By posting here, and reading others’ posts, can inspire you and give you confidence... YOU CAN QUIT!

You haven’t mentioned if you are actually physically addicted. I drank off and on for years but was able to go weeks without it... then found myself drinking at night every night... then eventually found myself having the shakes in the morning. A swig or two of vodka would make them go away, but I had such an exhausting time waiting to be sober enough to drive to the store to get more for my secret stash, having that soothing swig as soon as I came home from the store... hours later shaking again, needing alcohol... my “medicine”. Hiding how bad I was addicted from my husband, he was still able to have a drink or two a night and go weeks without.