Old 07-25-2017, 11:26 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  
herculana
Gratitude Gardener

a fantastic read about determining if you should quit drinking:

I'm not sure how I found you on Instagram a month ago, but I've been following your posts since and have probably "screenshot" half of them. I listened to the HOME podcast for the first time today. "The Craving Brain.” I'm in tears. I've been considering taking myself to AA for the past three days, but don't quite think I'm an “alcoholic." I just take the edge off... every night... with a bottle of wine. I don't know how to share these words with my fiancé as we plan our upcoming wedding. I don't know how to share this with my mom. And I know that my kids know. What's my next step? I'm a yoga instructor who wakes up with a hangover everyday. I feel like a fraud.

-Anonymous
Dear Anonymous,

When I read your letter I pictured a house burning down. I pictured you, standing barefoot on your street, clutching your fiancé and kids, watching your house smolder to the ground. Maybe your mom is there, too, and her heart is hopelessly breaking for her girl. I pictured you all wailing while your treasures get swallowed by fire, thinking to yourself, Well, ****. I should’ve said something about that broken stove.