View Single Post
Old 06-03-2017, 04:45 AM
  # 23 (permalink)  
FreeOwl

Originally Posted by SoberRunner View Post
Hi All,

Thank you guys SO much for the excellent responses. Everyone is 100% correct... I need to first admit that I'm an alcoholic; remove drinking as a option; work on my impulse control; and not try to wing out...which, I've learned, is what I do a lot in life, unfortunately.

Also, I loved the running analogies and osmosis/diffusion analogies... The latter definitely resonated with me because I'm a biology teacher and was just reading about osmosis/passive diffusion vs active diffusion a few days ago. Active diffusion takes energy/work because it's going against the grain so to speak (aka going against "what's natural" for that particular substance.) Sobriety is like Active Diffusion... It'll take energy/work for me to get to the other side (e.g. Longterm sobriety)

Ref running isn't a sober plan: I thought we were supposed to choose activities to help us not think about drinking? Granted, that's not working for me but neither did AA; I didn't feel comfortable there. That said, I'll re-read the Sober Plan sites Dee sent me a looonngg time ago and figure out where I went wrong (minus the stuff listed in the first paragraph).
Running is a fantastic PART of a sober plan.... but can't be your only plan.

AA didn't feel 'comfortable'? Huh. Go figure. That's because you didn't want to get sober.

Sorry man - just calling it like I sees it..... because I didn't feel COMFORTABLE at AA either. Until I truly wanted sobriety and approached AA (and all the other tools) with an open mind and a desire to take ANY tool that I could into my toolkit.

Getting sober isn't comfortable.

But I've never been as comfortable in my life as I am now in sobriety.

Running an ultra isn't comfortable.

But the glory and reward and euphoria and comfort of being an ultra-runner is pretty awesome......

See?