Old 07-10-2016, 10:49 AM
  # 29 (permalink)  
Centered3

[QUOTE=Gottalife;6029768]Hi C3,

Just to respond to your post above about other addictions and AA and SR etc. We are in the alcoholism forum. There will be some people here/in AA who know about other addictions but I am not one of them. When they get discussed in a meeting, you might as well be talking Chinese to me. I have had some addictions explained to me and I don't doubt their existence or how nasty they can be, but I have no experience of them.
Hi Mike, thanks for your post. Thanks for pointing this out. I forget that on SR everyone's various addictions are segregated. My lineage has taught me that you can read the big book and replace the word "alcohol" or "drinking" with any and all addictions and it really does work (in like 99% of the reading because of substance addiction vs behavioral addiction).

In my open AA meeting, if someone is talking about an addiction I don't have, I think, "isn't that interesting, I acted the same way with alcohol, etc". I think it's helpful for me to see that, because the problem isn't the actual substance or behavior, but what we're using it for.

The other thing to think about is the newcomer alcoholic who is at his first meeting wondering if he is in the right place. For his sake we better be talking about our common problem.
I agree with you that it could be confusing for a newcomer. I'm going to mention that any time going forward if I share on something other than alcohol. If you think about it, though, couldn't we all go to open meetings in any fellowship and replace the addiction word with our own and our stories would be exactly the same?

I don't believe you need a sponsor to help you with this. Also I agree you may not need to go through the steps from scratch. I hear that a lot. Someone changes sponsor and they are made to start all over again. How many times can you make the same amends? It is a daft idea.